Discover audio description

with Dr Joel Snyder and AVT Masterclass

Dr Joel Snyder is known internationally as one of the world’s first “audio describers,” a pioneer in the field of Audio Description. Since 1981, he has introduced audio description techniques in over 40 states and 64 countries and has made thousands of live events, media projects and museums accessible.  Most recently, Dr. Snyder was named a Fulbright Scholar to train audio describers in Greece and Ukraine over a four-week period in 2019.

 In 2014, the American Council of the Blind published Dr. Snyder’s book, The Visual Made Verbal – A Comprehensive Training Manual and Guide to the History and Applications of Audio Description, now available as an audio book and in Braille from the Library of Congress, in screen reader accessible formats, and in English, Polish, Russian, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian, and Chinese print editions.

Live webinar


This webinar will take place live on Zoom on 7 March 2024 at:

  • 8:00 - 9:00 am Los Angeles 
  • 11:00 am - 12:00 pm New York 
  • 1:00 - 2:00 pm Buenos Aires 
  • 4:00 - 5:00 pm London 
  • 5:00 - 6:00 pm Berlin 
  • 6:00 - 7:00 pm Athens


The webinar will last 60 minutes and will consist of a talk and Q&A session.

 

What will you learn?

Fundamentals of audio description

  • AD target audience

  • Types of audio description

  • Overview of the AD process

  • AD creation team

  • AD pro tips and tricks

FAQ

Any questions?

  • How long does it take to complete the course?

    This is a live webinar. It will last 60 minutes.

  • Will I have to attend regular online classes?

    Yes, this is a one-time class that you will need to attend online. You will receive a meeting link before the event. You are welcome to join our private Facebook group to network with your fellow students. If you're not a fan of Facebook, you can follow us on LinkedIn, Twitter or send us an e-mail at [email protected].

  • Do I need any software?

    No, to complete this course you don't need access to any software.